Okiye impeached

Hon Victor Edoror (APC Esan Central) today emerged the New Speaker of Edo Assembly after a motion for the impeachment of former Speaker Frank Okiye was not opposed.

Mr Sunday Aghedo, (APC Ovia SW) had moved a motion signed by the entire members calling for Okiye’s ouster. He was seconded by Hon Ohio Ezomo (APC Owan West).

The motion nominating Edoror was moved by Hon Washington Osifo (APC Uhunmwonde) and seconded by Hon Eric Okaka(APC , Owan East), and in the absence of further nominations he was elected.

Mr Chris Okaeben (APC, Oredo West) moved the motion that got Hon Emma Agbaje (APC, Akoko-Edo II) who acted as Speaker ex tempore, elected as Deputy Speaker.

Before the election, 12 out of the 14 members who were not sworn in last year took their oaths administered by Mr Tom Efezokhae, the deputy clerk.

The oath taking effectively made the 12 legislators of the state at an event which took place at the Conference Hall of the State assembly.

17 members attended plenary at the end of which Hon Ohio moved for adjournment as the Speaker announced that plenary will resume on Friday, 7th August 2020.

By Editor

Teacher, Reporter, and Blogger

Leave a Reply